Five Finalists Announced for 2024 Sue Ann Head Award

Wednesday, May 22, 2024 | 03:49pm
A graphic with five stars, the text "Sue Ann Head Award for Excellence in Workers' Compensation" and a photo of Ms. Sue Ann

The Tennessee Bureau of Workers’ Compensation is pleased to announce five finalists for the 2024 Sue Ann Head Award of Excellence in Workers’ Compensation. This is the sixth year of the memorial award, but the first year to have more than three finalists. 

Bureau Administrator, Troy Haley, explains, “We were incredibly impressed by the caliber of the nominees received. So, this year, for the first time, we have five finalists. We felt it wouldn't be appropriate to exclude such great nominees form being recognized. The judges will have a challenging task selecting a single winner.” 

 Meet the 2024 Sue Ann Head Award Finalists (in alpha order) 

  • Fred Baker (Attorney): Representing employers for more than 20 years, Fred has authored a key reference book and educates professionals while promoting fair outcomes.
  • David Dunaway (Attorney): Advocating for injured workers for over 45 years, David has written books and secured legal victories that benefit workers and championed their rights through litigation and outreach.
  • Dr. Jeff Hazlewood (Physician): A certified expert with over 30 years of experience, Dr. Hazlewood educates others and advocates for non-surgical, holistic care for injured workers.
  • Nancy Kelly (Nurse Case Manager): A passionate advocate for worker well-being, Nancy implemented a successful return-to-work program and co-created a program to help injured workers find meaningful opportunities.
  • Dr. Alan Meade (Physical Therapist): With over 34 years of experience, Dr. Meade focuses on preventing injuries, intervening early, and effectively rehabilitating workers. He has also influenced legislation and improved return-to-work times.

About the Sue Ann Head Award

The award honors the legacy of Sue Ann Head, who led the then Tennessee Workers’ Compensation Division for over 30 years. A dedicated leader, Sue Ann made significant contributions to the field beyond her official role. This award, established in her memory, recognizes individuals who embody similar qualities.

A recipient will be chosen based on their overall service, considering the quality of their work and its impact on Tennessee's workers' compensation system. The Bureau remains committed to honoring the past while encouraging future excellence.

Award Ceremony

Attendees of the Tennessee Workers’ Compensation Educational Conference are invited to the luncheon on June 13, 2024, at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Murfreesboro, where this year’s recipient will be announced. 

Related Links