Legislative Division

James K. Polk Building, Suite 700
505 Deaderick Street
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615.741.2848
Fax: 615.741.2508

Jay Klein

Jay Klein
Legislative Director

 Elizabeth Ashwood

Elizabeth Ashwood
Assistant Director/Policy Advisor

The Legislative Division is headed by a director who advises the commissioner and staff on legislative issues. Staff in this area work with members of the General Assembly to promote the department's agenda through legislation. Assistance is provided in legislative matters, and responses and information are provided to legislators involving the department.

This division coordinates the legislative affairs of the department. The Director and Assistant Director prepare and implement the department's initiatives, serve as the Commissioner's liaison with the Governor's Office and the Legislature, and coordinate the Commissioner's relations with the General Assembly.

The goal of the Legislative Division is to coordinate and manage the department’s legislative agenda through the legislative process. The office develops and improves working relationships with all members of the General Assembly. The Department relies on this office to develop legislative proposals to carry out departmental initiatives, as well as to analyze and communicate the effect of all proposed legislation. The Legislative Division also facilitates the communication of the department’s initiatives with representatives of the affected constituency.

For more information on state legislators, committees, or legislation, visit the Tennessee General Assembly website.