Board Members

The State Board of Education is a gubernatorially and legislatively appointed board charged under the law with rulemaking and policymaking for K-12 education. Composed of 11 members—one from each of Tennessee's nine congressional districts, plus a student member and the executive director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission who serves as an ex-officio, non-voting member. Dr. Sara Heyburn Morrison serves as Executive Director of the Board. Board members serve a five-year term; the student member serves a one-year term.

Mrs. Krissi McInturff

Congressional District 1

Mr. Jordan Mollenhour

Congressional District 2

Mr. Robert Eby

Chair Congressional District 3

Mr. Warren Wells

Congressional District 4

Mr. Ryan Holt

Congressional District 5

Dr. Ina Maxwell

Congressional District 6

Mrs. Marsha Johnson

Congressional District 7

Mr. Larry Jensen

Congressional District 8

Mr. Darrell Cobbins

Vice-Chair Congressional District 9

Laurel Cox

2023-24 Student Member Cascade High School

Steven Gentile

Executive Director Tennessee Higher Education Commission

Find My Board Member

Use the interactive map below to identify, contact, and learn more about the board member representing your district.