About Us

The State Board of Education is composed of 11 members representing the diversity of the state – one from each congressional district, plus a student member, and the executive director of the Tennessee Higher Education Commission who serves as non-voting ex officio member. Board members are unpaid appointments, confirmed by the Governor and legislature and selected based on a passion for service to the people of Tennessee and the education of Tennessee’s children. Dr. Sara Heyburn Morrison serves as Executive Director of the Board.