Tennessee Board of Water Quality, Oil & Gas

Meeting Details: (Revised 05/23/2024)

The June 18th meeting has been cancelled.

2023 Meeting Dates

February 21 - Cancelled
April 18-19
June 20
August 15 - Cancelled
October 17-18
December 19 - Cancelled

2024 Meeting Dates

February 20 - Cancelled
April 16-17
June 18 - Cancelled
August 20
October 15-16
December 17

Board Characteristics

Twelve members: nine citizen members appointed by the Governor for four-year terms and three ex-officio.

Members include:

  • Department of Environment and Conservation;
  • Department of Health;
  • Department of Agriculture;
  • one person representing the public-at-large;
  • one person representing environmental interests;
  • one person representing counties;
  • one person representing agricultural interests;
  • one person representing municipalities of the state;
  • a small generator of water pollution representing automotive interests;
  • one member representing manufacturing industries and has current full-time employment with a manufacturing concern in Tennessee and holds a college degree in engineering or the equivalent, and has at least eight (8) years of combined technical training and experience in NPDES permit compliance and management of wastewater or water treatment facilities;
  • one member representing the oil and gas industry;
  • one member representing oil or gas property owners.

Commissioned under T.C.A. Section 69-3-104.

The statute authorizing this board expires June 30, 2028 and the one-year wind-down period begins.

Member Term Expires Representation
Dr. Gary G. Bible 09-30-2027 Oil & Gas Industry
Elaine Boyd Ex-Officio Commissioner's Designee, Department of Environment and Conservation
Vacant 09-30-2022 Small Generator of Water Pollution representing Automotive Interests
Terry Wimberley 09-30-2026 Municipalities
Mayor Kevin Davis 09-30-2025 Counties
Brent Galloway 09-30-2023 Oil or Gas Property Owner
Dodd Galbreath 09-30-2024 Environmental Interests
John Schwartz 09-30-2024 Public-at-large
Jane Yackley Ex-Officio Commissioner's Designee, Department of Health
Sam Marshall Ex-Officio Commissioner's Designee, Department of Agriculture
Frank McGinley 09-30-2022 Agricultural Interests
Neal Whitten 09-30-2027 Manufacturing Industry

Past Meetings

October 2019 Board Meeting Materials

April 2019 Board Meeting Materials

Drake Smarch

This Page Last Updated: May 28, 2024 at 11:32 AM