Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA)

Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infections have been increasing in the community and healthcare facilities. MRSA infections can be severe and life threatening and are expensive. In the state of Tennessee, cases of invasive MRSA have been reportable to the Tennessee Department of Health (TDH) since July 2004. Beginning July 1, 2010, certain facilities were asked to also report MRSA-positive blood cultures for inpatients facility-wide and for emergency departments.  As of July 2012, all hospitals (with the exception of critical access hospitals), regardless of average daily census (ADC), are required to report these events. Monthly reporting of numerator and denominator data is ongoing in each location type unless otherwise specified.

For details on reporting requirements, please see the information provided below.

Which health care facilities need to report?

All hospitals, excluding critical access hospitals, regardless of ADC, all long-term acute care facilities (LTACS), and all Inpatient Rehabilitation Facilities (IRFS) are required to report.

Which units within these facilities must report information?

The following units need to report:

  • Facility-wide, inpatient
  • Emergency Department
  • 24-hour Observation locations
  • Inpatient Rehabilitation Facilities (IRFs)
  • Long-term Acute Care Facilities (LTACs)

What information must be reported?

Regarding numerator data, all non-duplicate MRSA-positive blood cultures (laboratory-identified events) as defined in CDC/NHSN Multidrug-Resistant Organism (MDRO) protocol must be reported. Non-duplicate is defined as no previous positive in the same physical location within the last 14 days at the reporting facility.

Monthly denominator data must include patient days, number of admissions, and number of emergency department and observatino patient encounters.

How should the information be reported?

Those who report must use the National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) software application.


For more information see the following links

MRSA Forms – Numerator

MRSA Forms - Denominator