
 

1 
 

 

Bureau of Workers’ Compensation 
220 French Landing Drive, 1-B 

Nashville, Tennessee 37243-1002 

wc.info@tn.gov  

 

This is a general overview of workers’ compensation legislation passed by the 2024 session 

of the 113th General Assembly. For a complete, detailed review of this information and all 

workers’ compensation bills introduced in this legislative session, please go to 

www.capitol.tn.gov.  

Temporary Benefits – The maximum weekly benefit rate for injuries occurring July 1, 2024 

through June 30, 2025 is $1,360.70 or 110% of the state’s average weekly wage. 

Permanent Benefits – The maximum weekly benefit rate for injuries occurring July 1, 2024 

through June 30, 2025 is $1,237.00 or 100% of the state’s average weekly wage. 

Minimum Weekly Benefit – The minimum weekly benefit rate for injuries occurring July 1, 

2024 through June 30, 2025 for both temporary and permanent benefits is $185.55. 

Source: US Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics  

Public Chapter 532 (SB2094 by Johnson/HB1694 by Lamberth) 

Amends TCA Section 50-3-702 to make a consistent, uniform period of 14 days for 

electronic filing purposes for filing the First Report of Injury (FROI) electronically with BWC.  

Amends TCA Section 50-6-205(d)(1) to delete the Notice of Controversy form requirement. 

There is no longer such a paper form. A filing is made electronically via EDI (Electronic Data 

Interchange).  

Clarifies that uninsured employer penalties may apply to construction and non-

construction entities.  
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Extends the sunset of PC 189 (2021) for 5 years to July 1, 2029, so that BWC can continue to 

enforce workers’ compensation insurance coverage laws. 

Public Chapter 532 was signed by Governor Lee on March 7, 2024, and it becomes effective 

on July 1, 2024. 

Public Chapter 666 (SB2909 by Bailey/HB2306 by Vaughan) 

Enacts the Tennessee Self-Insurers' Guaranty Association Act and creates a nonprofit 

unincorporated legal entity to be known as the Tennessee Self-Insurers’ Guaranty 

Association. This Act is being established to provide a mechanism for the payment of self-

insured workers' compensation claims to avoid excessive delay in payment and to avoid 

financial loss to claimants because of the insolvency of a self-insured employer, and to 

provide an Association to assess the cost of the protection among self-insured employers 

doing business in this state.  

Public Chapter 666 was signed by Gov. Lee on April 9, 2024, and it became effective upon 

signing.  

Public Chapter 687 (SB2083 by Johnson/HB1887 by Lamberth) 

Requires that workers’ compensation benefits to a member of the Tennessee National 

Guard must be based on the average weekly wage of the guard member as determined by 

the greater of the average weekly wage earned by the guard member in the guard 

member's civilian employment at the time the state active duty orders were issued, or the 

average weekly wage the guard member would have received while on active federal duty. 

Public Chapter 687 was signed by Gov. Lee on April 11, 2024, and it became effective upon 

signing.  

Public Chapter 0813 (SB2378 by Watson/HB2010 by Vaughan) 

Requires the Comptroller of the Treasury (COT) to conduct a study of all insurers, including 

insurance pools, that provide policies of workers' compensation coverage to local 

governmental entities, including a review of each insurer's solvency, a comparative rate 

study, and an analysis of the process to bid out, procure, or otherwise obtain such a policy. 

Requires the COT to report the findings of the study to the Speaker of the Senate and the 

House of Representatives by January 1, 2025. Defines “local governmental entity" to mean a 



 

3 
 

county, incorporated city or town, metropolitan government, and the governing body of a 

local education agency and charter school.  

Public Chapter 0813 was signed by Gov. Lee on April 29, 2024, and it became effective upon 

signing. 

Public Chapter 492 (SB1601 by Roberts/HB1744 by Ragan) 

Extends the bureau of workers' compensation to June 30, 2029.  

Public Chapter 492 was signed by Governor Lee on February 21, 2024, and it became 

effective upon signing. 

Public Chapter 498 (SB1616 by Roberts/HB1759 by Ragan) 

Extends the medical advisory committee to June 30, 2029.  

Public Chapter 498 was signed by Governor Lee on February 21, 2024, and it became 

effective upon signing. 

Public Chapter 499 (SB1617 by Roberts/HB1760 by Ragan) 

Extends the medical payment committee to June 30, 2029.  

Public Chapter 499 was signed by Governor Lee on February 21, 2024, and it became 

effective upon signing. 

 


