
School Tobacco Use Laws 
 
 
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 39-17-1505 (2001) prohibits any person 
under the age of 18 to possess, purchase, or accept receipt a tobacco product. 
Furthermore, it is illegal to present or offer unto any person any false proof of 
age for the purpose of purchasing or receiving any tobacco product. Violation of 
this code is punishable by a fine between $10 and $50 and up to 50 hours of 
community service. 
 
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 39-17-1604 (2000) prohibits smoking in all 
public and private kindergarten, elementary and secondary schools. Adult staff 
members are, however, permitted to smoke outdoors, but not within 50 feet of 
any entrance into the building, and on school grounds after school hours, but not 
blocking any entrance to any building and not in any public seating area, 
bleachers for sporting events, or public restrooms. 
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